double mint chocolate cookies

 photo 006_zpsf928571a.png
This year I wanted to make “festive” cookies to give away to family as Christmas goodies. I have no idea how festive double mint chocolate cookies are but the kids loved them. My uncle loved them as well. They are infused with mint Oreos and Andes mint chocolates. I also made white chocolate cranberry cookies and they were a hit with the adults. I guess I should have known that chocolate wouldn’t win over any of my aunts or my grandma.
 photo 005_zpsa47f4d98.png
Double Mint Chocolate Cookies (adapted from Life, Love, and Sugar)
2 sticks of unsalted butter at room temp
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated white sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup cocoa (if you want the cookies to be a black color instead of dark brown use Hershey’s special dark cocoa)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp baking soda
5 oz Andes mint chocolates (I used about 3/4 of the package)
3/4 cup mint Oreos

– cream butter and sugars together until light and fluffy
– add egg and mix
– add vanilla and baking soda and mix again
– add cocoa and mix
– add flour slowly and mix just until combined (it’ll be thick)
– add the Oreos and mint chocolates (I added them whole and used my mixer to crush them but you can chop them before if you’d like) and mix just until Oreos and chocolates are broken
– chill for about 3-4 hours or overnight (I chilled my for 48 hrs)
– preheat oven to 350 degrees
– roll dough into mini golf balls and press slightly to flatten them
– bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes
– let cool and enjoy or package them and give em away 🙂

I got about 30 mini cookies out of this recipe. You could probably get 16-18 regular sized cookies. They taste pretty good considering the fact that I’m not a fan of the mint Oreos. I sampled one and thought they would be awesome because they’re Oreos but I was SO WRONG! The Oreos have a funky taste that reminds me of my toothpaste. The cookies were spot on though! My little cousins loved them.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

