Cafe Dulce (Los Angeles, CA)

After my trip to the LACMA, I ventured out to Little Tokyo. I’ve been wanting to try Cafe Dulce because they’re known for their green tea and red bean donuts. I also got a maple bacon donut hole. I have to say, I’m not impressed by the donut hole. It tasted like something I’ve made before which didn’t wow me very much. I also thought they needed to use better bacon (just because I’m a bacon snob).
 photo 046_zps9473a865.png
I got two green tea donuts, a red bean donut, and a bacon donut hole. The red bean donut tasted very light and fluffy. It had a really great mix of cinnamon and sugar. I wasn’t a fan of the filling. I was thinking it’d be traditional red bean filling and only consist of red bean but it had some weird crunchy thing in it. At first I thought it was corn but my sister said I was wrong so I still don’t know what it is! šŸ˜¦
 photo 047_zps8a58094a.png
The green tea donut was a winner! šŸ™‚ I love the custard filling because it’s not too sweet. The donut doesn’t have a overpowering green tea taste for people who don’t really like that. I did wish the taste was a little stronger just because I can handle it. My sister ate one and I shared the other with my parents. My mom also loved this one. She ate the red bean one as well but I guess it was up her alley and she actually knew what was in it.

We got Hong Kong style milk tea and I have to say…where is the boba?! I’ve never had it without boba before and it just taste weird without it. GREEN TEA DONUTS! šŸ™‚ There were plenty of sushi restaurants and bakeries to eat at but we were still full. Next time I think we’ll try a sushi place or Japanese bbq restaurant!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

