Project Give: 4MS February Giveaway

Welcome to the February giveaway for Project Give: 4MS! Originally, I had planned to have a giveaway every month for a year to see where this “project” takes me. Those hopes were slightly altered when work didn’t want to cooperate. I interviewed for a job as a therapist back in the spring of 2013 and it seemed like such a dream job. It went downhill as they promised to increase my hours but actually cut them as well as health insurance (who knew it would be so expensive?!). There were weeks where I only worked 9 hours per week. Needless to say, my funds set aside for this project has dwindled as bills piled up and I am no longer employed. But fear not! Military spouses to the rescue. Thank you Kara! She’s freakin awesome if I do say so myself. I’ve decided to focus on volunteer opportunities and grad school applications. UCLA, here I come!

Kara from Ramblings Of A Marine Wife kindly offered to sponsor this month’s giveaway. I started this project to help military spouses but I didn’t expect it to be the other way around. I am in awe of all the generous and kind hearted people in the world. It’s funny how when you less expect it, that’s when great things happen. I’m super grateful for Kara and her generosity as well as Katie of Going Coastal With The Plumes, who offered to sponsor next month’s giveaway. You ladies rock!

This month’s giveaway is Valentine’s Day themed. The giveaway consists of a candle, 2 face masks, nail polish, bath salts, and chocolate. An excellent way to pamper yourself.

To enter you must..
– Enter through Rafflecopter because only Rafflecopter entries are accepted
– Be a military spouse and have a blog (non-bloggers email me if you’d like to enter)
– Live in the U.S. because this giveaway only ships to U.S. residents

ENTER FEBRUARY GIVEAWAY HERE!!

I will use Rafflecopter to announce the winner. The winner will be announced next Sunday at 8pm via my blog. The winner will have two days to contact me with their shipping information. If I haven’t been contacted within two days, another winner will be chosen.

Each giveaway will include a Cherish Every Moment bracelet and card to support The Dax Locke Foundation. Please consider making a donation and help Dax’s mom, Julie reach her goal of raising $1.8 million to run St. Jude’s hospital for one day in his honor.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Here’s a guest post from Kara:

The origins of Valentine’s Day aren’t known exactly. Some believe it started with Saint Valentine, while others believe the day was started to “Christianize” the pagan celebration of Lupercalla, a fertility festival dedicate to the Roman god of agriculture. Either way, we now have the modern day Valentine’s Day, a commercialized day for friends and lovers.

We don’t do much for Valentine’s Day at our house, mainly because our anniversary and our daughter’s birthday are within a couple days of February 14. My husband isn’t much for romance either. When we got married, I told him I was screwing myself for life because it was so close to Valentine’s Day and he laughed. I will forever only get one of the days acknowledged, but as long as at least one is acknowledged, then I’m fine with it. If he ever forgets both though, he’s a dead man.

When I do think of Valentine’s Day, I think of the fun we had at school making the boxes for our cards. Old shoeboxes covered in construction paper hearts. It was always so fun to open up all those cards, even if we did have to give one to everyone in the class. Now, my kids are at the age where they have Valentine’s Day parties at school. My oldest has had them for a few years now, but this will be the first year for my daughter. She already talks about the boyfriends she has at school, so I’m half excited and half terrified to see how the day is going to go for her.

It’s safe to say we don’t have big plans for the 14th this year. My only hope is for my husband to take me out for our anniversary and to get some alone time. Not alone time with my husband, alone time with myself and the bathtub, preferably.

11 thoughts on “Project Give: 4MS February Giveaway

  1. Amanda

    We don’t usually do much for Valentine’s Day mostly due to the fact that I’m not one for making a big deal about it. In addition, my husband is usually off playing Army, but this year I’m the one traveling on business 🙂

    Reply
    1. Justina Post author

      Hi Amanda! Welcome to my blog 🙂 Yes, I’m not one to make a big deal either. Your son is so stinkin cute!! I was awing at my laptop screen haha

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Just Some Stuff | Ramblings of a Marine Wife

  3. Elizabeth, The Young Retiree

    We don’t really celebrate Valentine’s Day the way most couples do I guess. We love going out last minute and trying to find each other the most obnoxious card we can, go out to eat on Valentine’s Day eve instead of dealing with the crowds, and just enjoy a quite evening at home on the 14th! I think my husband hit the jackpot!

    Reply
  4. Sharlece

    Me & my husband like to do something special with our two boys for Valentine’s & something private for the two of us also…Valentines day/night is usually pretty awesome 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

