shrimp tacos

 photo 004_zps1565b2e8.png
My mexican food craving has been fed! My dad has a habit of making really gross and dry pork chops so my sister and I came up with a menu for this week. We’re alternating days of who cooks and I went to the store for all the ingredients. Today was my day to cook and I made shrimp tacos, rice, and drumsticks seasoned with fajita mix. I LOVE FAJITA MIX from Williams Sonoma. It’s the best freakin thing ever. I put it on pork, beef, shrimp, and chicken. William Sonoma is awesome!!! πŸ™‚ My sister also got a herb chicken rub but we haven’t tried it yet. Also on the menu this week is spicy pulled pork, potato salad, scallops and peas w/pasta, bbq drumsticks, mashed potatoes, and bbq chicken pizza. Clearly I’m a fattie..haha πŸ™‚

Shrimp Tacos
2lbs shrimp, peeled an deveined
1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon fajita seasoning divided (I used the kind from Williams Sonoma)
1 green bell pepper, diced
2 roma tomatoes, diced
1/3 of a head of lettuce, shredded (my dad has a way of cutting it so it’s all shredded but still pretty)
1/2 cup shredded mexican cheese (I buy the bag kind)
12 taco shells, baked according to package instructions

– in a medium bowl, mix shrimp with 1 tablespoon fajita seasoning and let marinate for 15 minutes
– in a small bowl, mix green pepper with 1 teaspoon fajita seasoning and cook for about 2-3 minutes until done, set aside
– cook shrimp in a large pan after it marinates for 15 minutes
– to assemble, take a taco shell and line the bottom with shrimp. I put 4 shrimps in each taco. On top of the shrimp, I put the diced green peppers and than the lettuce. I put the tomatoes on top of the lettuce and sprinkle it with cheese

This recipe is super easy! It only takes about 30-45 minutes depending on how fast you can dice and prep. My dad did the dicing so with the drumsticks and rice I got dinner on the table in about an hour and a half. Success! πŸ™‚ My dad and I spent some quality time in the kitchen today while he kept scolding me for not knowing how to dice green peppers and tomatoes. I kept telling him I know how but he does it so much better so why would I ruin a good thing? Then he kept sighing and rolling his eyes. Haha, love you dad! πŸ™‚ Enjoy em.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

