VA farmers market

I was a bit surprised when I found out there was a farmers market every Wednesday at the VA. After that wore off, I was super excited. I haven’t been to a farmers market in quite a while because I never want to drive too far or fight for parking. Two farmers markets near me that I would recommend are ones in Pasadena. My favorite one is the one across from UCI in Irvine. I’m a weirdo when it comes to farmers markets. My sister always makes fun of me because I go to buy hot food, snacks, occasionally some berries, bread, hummus, and kettle corn. Apparently that defeats the whole purpose of going to a “farmers” market but whatever. I never like shopping for veggies even when I go to the grocery store so that will never change.
 photo 003_zps4850aa2f.png
I bought two bags of butter toffee peanuts and a bag of Jonagold apples. The peanuts were so effin good!! One bag is already gone. I got two bags for under $4 which is a pretty sweet deal since they sell by the pound. I got 5 humungous apples for $2 which I also think is pretty awesome.
 photo 001_zps3422c860.png
I bought a 1/2 pak of strawberries for $6. Usually that doesn’t happen but the Cerritos/Long Beach/Fountain Valley area always sells the 1/2 paks for $6. The ones in Pasadena and Irvine both sell 3 pints for $6-8 dollars which is a total rip off! My berries were glorious 🙂 I just had a brownie ice cream sundae with strawberries and chocolate sauce! 🙂

The staff were really nice and they had a big selection of snacks which I loved. I was a bit disappointed with their bread selection. They had this weird cinnamon bread that looked more like pound cake so no bread for me. They had a big variety of veggies like cucumbers, carrots, brussel sprouts, onions, different herbs. They also had pineapples, bananas, tangerines, mangoes, oranges, strawberries, and apples. They sell Peanut Butter Co. peanut butter too. I wanted to buy some but they didn’t have the flavors I like. This farmers market takes credit card! SCORE!! 🙂 The only down side was some of my strawberries were getting ripe too fast. When I inspected the box, they were okay but once I got home they were super ripe so I had to wash/eat a lot of em. A lot faster than I planned to anyway. Toodles!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “VA farmers market

    1. Justina Post author

      Katie! They have to be my best farmers market find so far. They’re so addicting. I’m talking to people while popping them in my mouth like it’s crack >_< haha

      Reply

Leave a Reply

