Bloggers Giving Back: Well Boxed

Today was the March event for Bloggers Giving Back. The event was held at Great Over Good in Santa Ana. Naadine is awesome for hosting us again! ๐Ÿ™‚ Today’s event was all about putting together care packages and sending them to service members overseas using AnySoldier.com. We also had pizza and wine. As usual, the decor was super cute. I met some new bloggers and actually decorated a box before sending it. The decorating was pretty easy but I’m not artistic at all so I always think it’s going to end up looking horrible. Thank you Melyssa, Naadine, Jess, and Megan for planning and hosting this awesome event!

My box consisted of 3 packages of chicken flavored ramen noodles, 2 boxes of Thin Mints, 2 mason jars filled with peeps and jelly beans, 6 Easter eggs filled with crunchy chocolate eggs, 2 journals, 3 dvds, a ziploc bag filled with packets of instant coffee, a handful of candy, and a three page letter (I once wrote a Gunny about how I got pulled over for avoiding a pothole and he loved it – I think he’s still laughing about it). Since the big bro was a marine, naturally I chose a marine. I took forever scanning the names and decided on a Sgt Major. I mean how many people can say I sent a care package to a Sgt Major?! Well maybe quite a few but I still thought it was pretty neat. He’s actually in the same battalion the big bro was in so that was a plus. Because his name sounded somewhat familiar, I googled it. Does that make me a stalker? Don’t answer that. He looks like a total badass and what people would see when they think “marine.” And as usual, I took a bazillion pictures. Here we go! ๐Ÿ™‚

**EDIT: You might see some slight variations of the pictures in this post. Kara left me a comment about opsec so I proudly told this to my friend who happens to be in the army. He trolled my blog and told me I missed a few pictures. Thanks Tony ๐Ÿ™‚ Always glad I can count on you for that lol

 photo 005_zps4aa6bb04.png
 photo 001_zpsae09c7d8.png
 photo 011_zpsf5800db3.png
The white cloud like thingy is just photoshop. I wrote the persons name and rank on the letter so obviously for opsec reasons I’m not going to post it.
 photo 010_zps772f7f63.png
All the decorations for the care packages
 photo 003_zps33c3350e.png
 photo 017_zps1f905fff.png
Inside my box! I couldn’t decide to do a Easter theme or a snack theme so I did both.
 photo 018_zps8a31e3b9.png
Piled with even more stuff
 photo 020_zpsa74f4d6f.png
The table I sat with
 photo 028_zps7d6cdbc4.png
Melyssa of The Nectar Collective and her adorable dog Monja. Sweetest darn dog ever ๐Ÿ™‚
 photo 021_zps1a32e57b.png
The other table ๐Ÿ™‚ Esther..I’m not sure what you’re doing! haha
 photo 031_zps932003f9.png
Naadine standing on a chair to take pics of the care packages
 photo 023_zps114c8a38.png
My decorated box. I had a hard time deciding whether to decorate the flaps or not. All the other ladies were decorating like crazy so I decided to do it in the end. I picked a simple print because the box is going to a high ranking marine who happens to be male. I figured I’d keep it simple. Yes I know, simple really meant floral. This is why I don’t decorate! lol
 photo 022_zps311706b5.png
A close up of the box. Again the white is the name on the letter.
 photo 027_zpsb09e50b3.png
Melyssa’s dog Monja. I swear everyone was snapping pictures left and right. I know Naadine has at least 5!
 photo 030_zps91fff6ad.png
Me with the lovely Naadine. Our monthly photo! haha ๐Ÿ™‚
 photo 002_zpsdcbe86e8.png
The decorations on the wall
 photo 009_zps67c4f700.png
The candy corner ๐Ÿ˜€
 photo 043_zpsbd5df1f6.png
Sweet Monja again! ๐Ÿ™‚
 photo 042_zps47f9fbc6.png
All the beautiful decorated care packages ready for service members overseas.
 photo 039_zps2dfbfe22.png
Wine! ๐Ÿ™‚
 photo 037_zps6838d667.png
Kettlecorn made by Naadine. It was delicious!
 photo 036_zpse78f751c.png
Fudge brownies made by Victoria of Poverty Luxe. They were delicious as well.
 photo 040_zps35e1d348.png
Delicious pizza. We had olives and mushrooms, pepperoni, and cheese.

Here are the links to the bloggers that attended today’s event. If I forgot you, please let me know. I didn’t do it on purpose, swear! ๐Ÿ™‚

Melyssa of The Nectar Collective
Naadine of Great Over Good
Jess of Jess Loves This Life
Raewyn of Be a Warrior Queen (So awesome to see you again! I can’t remember how many times I asked you for scissors!)
Victoria of Poverty Luxe (The brownies you made were freakin fabulous!)
Esther of Esther & Jacob (Esther and I bonded over donuts! So nice to meet you Esther!)
Megan of The Artistic Brunette
Jasam of The Opulent Owl
Jes of Bleu Dress Jes
Kara of Ramblings of a Marine Wife (Kara is a Project Give sponsor!)
Nicole of Adventures of a Semper Fi Family (Nicole, it was nice to meet you! You’re so sweet!)
Katie of Going Coastal With The Plumes (It was nice to meet you Katie! Katie is also a Project Give sponsor)
Emily of Just The Stew Of Us
Victoria of Anchored by Faith

Well that’s all folks. I think this post might be longer than the OC Blogger Brunch one. Have a great weekend! Don’t do crazy over the earthquakes.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

25 thoughts on “Bloggers Giving Back: Well Boxed

      1. Kelly

        I would! My husband is underway at the moment so it probably would be a bit difficult with a toddler. =P

    1. Justina Post author

      I did ๐Ÿ™‚ I had a bazillion pictures to upload so I had to do it or else it would never be done. It was great. There were a lot of new faces. Sorry you missed it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Reply
    1. Justina Post author

      It was our pleasure Op Grat ๐Ÿ™‚ A lot of us had sent boxes before but never decorated them like we did that day. It was so fun!

      Reply
    1. Justina Post author

      Yes! Victoria of Poverty Luxe made gluten-free fudge brownies or something like that. I found them on the counter when I was talking to Naadine.

      Reply
  1. Rachelle

    What a wonderful thing you are doing! I’d love to join if you do this again! Looks like a lot of fun to bring a smile to our military men and women. Thank you!!!

    Reply
    1. Justina Post author

      Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚ The Bloggers Giving Back group has other events planned. We’re doing the Revlon Walk in May. I’m not sure if we’ll be doing another event like this. I’ll be putting together more care packages in June for July if you’re interested we can meet up and put them together. Let me know ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
      1. Rachelle

        Oh, awesome! Yes, shoot me a message if you plan on doing more packages together in the summer. If I can swing it, that would be fun. My friend and I have done the Revlon walk every year for the past few years and this year will be no exception. Maybe we’ll see you out there! ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. Justina Post author

        I’ll definitely let you know when that comes up. Oh awesome! I’d be cool if we ran into each other ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Justina Post author

      Thank you! It was awesome meeting you ๐Ÿ™‚ And yes, we need a donut date. Have you tried the green tea ones from Cafe Dulce in Little Tokyo? They’re sooo good!

      Reply
  2. Heather

    Please let me know if you need volunteers in the future! I will drive up from San Diego if I’m in town. I would be so honored to help with this.

    Reply
      1. Heather

        Aww thanks. I leave the 28th for an 11-day (two city) business trip. But I will try to make it. Sorry you won’t be there, though!

Leave a Reply

