The Designated Driver (Harley Davidson Cafe)

 photo 005_zpsa55a3788.png
Because Esther and I got to talking about Las Vegas yesterday, I began reminiscing of my Vegas trips over the years. I remember I went to Vegas for the first time when I was 16. Since I was still a baby back then, I ordered all the non-alcoholic drinks that appealed to me. The Harley Davidson Cafe on the strip has a drink called The Designated Driver. It’s a blend of ice, strawberries, and Sprite. It was so darn delicious, it’s the only drink I remember from Vegas. I didn’t have Sprite so I used 7Up but definitely use Sprite because the taste is a little different. As you can tell from the picture, I didn’t blend it with ice. It was late at night so I smashed up some strawberries and made a semi-puree. It was pretty good regardless but it definitely taste better with the ice. It’s an excellent spring and summer drink. The cafe also has a killer southwest chicken salad. Best I’ve ever had!

The Designated Driver (Harley Davidson Cafe)
1/4 part ice
1/4 part strawberry puree
1/2 part Sprite

– blend together until it resembles a smoothie
– pour into a glass and enjoy

Another thing I remember about my first trip to Vegas was all the weirdos handing out cards with hookers on them. The strip looked like an alley because people who took the cards out of politeness ended up throwing them on the street. Real nice guys! That was sarcasm in case you couldn’t tell. Also, I remember sitting in the car and being stuck in traffic. I think we were trying to get to Circus Circus. The car in front of us were full of guys and one of them decided to get out of the car and dirty dance next to the passenger side of the car in front of them. I’m pretty sure she was some rich lady cause she smacked him with her door. Totally unexpected but it was so hilarious. That teaches you not to do stupid things. I had delicious gelato from the Bellagio hotel and watched the water fountain show several times. I think my favorite one is still Celine Dion’s My Heart Will Go On. The M&M and Coca Cola factories were awesome too.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

4 thoughts on “The Designated Driver (Harley Davidson Cafe)

  1. Kara (@RofaMW)

    I’ve never been to Vegas. When we drove out here from Missouri in 2010, my husband drove me through on part of the strip, but I don’t think that counts. We didn’t even get out of the truck. It’s on my to-do list while we live here.

    Reply
    1. Justina Post author

      That definitely doesn’t count. Circus Circus would be a good choice if you bring the kids. There’s a lot of games to play and there’s a show but I’ve never seen it. Something about clowns creep me out. I think your kids will love the M&M and Coca Cola factories. They have photo ops everywhere. Just avoid those darn people who pass out hooker cards. There’s tons of them EVERYWHERE and some of them are quite aggressive trying to shove the card into your hand.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

