taco pie

I was at the grocery store the other day getting ingredients for the orange creamsicle cookies I made. I have the worst habit of buying things that aren’t on my grocery list. I’ll be the person that alternates the list last minute, as in while I’m standing in front of what I want to get. I ended up buying ingredients for a taco pie as well because I was craving it at the time. It’s seriously the worst habit. A list that was supposed to be less than $10 became $30 because I just HAD to buy cuties and ice cream too. The recipe I found called for crescent rolls but I’ve never been a fan of them so I used frozen pie crust instead. I also omitted the cheese and sour cream because my list was definitely getting out of my budget. It was a bit salty for me so definitely include the cheese and sour cream if you’re making it! πŸ™‚
 photo 001_zps1c6b5d2e.png
Taco Pie
1 1/2 lb ground beef
1 packet of your favorite taco seasoning
2 frozen pie crusts
lettuce and tomatoes for sides
1 1/2 cup mexican blend cheese
1 cup sour cream
 photo 006_zpse7d262e2.png
– preheat oven to 425 degrees
– in a medium skillet, brown ground beef and drain excess liquid
– add taco seasoning and stir and set aside
– unroll pie crust into a pie pan and fill with meat mixture
– top with 1 cup cheese and the second pie crust
– you can cut off the excess crust and crimp the end of the pie with your fingers if you want but I just folded the excess pie crust underneath and crimped it with a fork
– cut slits into the top of the pie to let it ventilate when it bakes
– bake at 425 degrees for 40-45 minutes
– let cool for about 10 minutes before cutting into
– serve with lettuce, cherry tomatoes, sour cream, and the additional cheese
 photo 009_zps5a24f58d.png
Personally I like crimping savory pies with a fork versus using my fingers. If it’s a sweet pie then I’ll cut off the excess crust and use my fingers to make it nice and pretty. I guess I’ve been buying pies for too long. Pies from Sheila Mae’s Sweet Treats, The Julian Pie Company, The Pie Hole, and I Like Pie Bakeshop are seriously legit! The Pie Hole and I Like Pie Bakeshop also sell savory pies. Chicken pot pie? Shepherd’s pie? Delish! πŸ™‚ Sheila Mae’s has a delicious banana cream pie that is just to die for. The pie is silky and creamy and the peanut brittle on top makes you feel like you’re floating on cloud 9. The Julian Pie Company has a delicious peach and apple pie. I only buy their pies with the crumble topping. Unlike other crumble toppings, this one doesn’t get soggy if you put the pie in the fridge. It taste just as good the next day! πŸ™‚ Enjoy the pie!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

