Volunteering VA hospital #7

I know I’ve been MIA for a bit on here and it’s because I really didn’t want to write about what I’m about to. Before I started volunteering I was so eager to help veterans and just help others. I knew I was volunteering at a hospital and usually when people go the hospital it means something bad. I’ve never knew how to deal with death. I’m not one of those people who can “celebrate” the life someone lived. There were patients that I got to know who passed away and that just broke my heart. I barely knew some of them yet they were some of the best people I’ve ever met. One of the volunteers at the hospital got into an accident on the fwy and passed away. He was a air force vet, a husband, a father, and many other things. When I first brought baked goodies, he was the one who told me they were delicious. He was the first one to try something that I baked. He encouraged me to bake for more people. He was the one who taught me how to push a gurney. He used to laugh when someone associated me with a gurney because of the look on my face when I pushed a gurney over a bump (there are lots of bumps in the hospital). He was a really good guy and now going to the hospital seems so strange. It seems so bizarre that he isn’t there because he’s always there. I’m still shocked that it happened. He was such a good person. I wanted to get to know him better. There are certain people that will automatically touch you by just being the way that they are. He was one of those people. I’m really at a lost for words. I probably rambled on and on in this post but I haven’t felt motivated to write or bake since it happened.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “Volunteering VA hospital #7

  1. Heather

    I am so sorry for this loss. What a tragedy. In time, you can honor him by carrying on his legacy of volunteering. I’m sure he’d be honored. Thinking of you.

    Reply
    1. Justina Post author

      Thank you Heather. That means a lot ūüôā I just wish others could have met him. He was such a amazing guy. Full of love, joy, kindness, and wisdom.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

