The Pie Hole (Pasadena, CA)

I love good pie. Not Marie Calendar’s pie but The Pie Hole and Julian Pie Company pie. Now that’s the good stuff. Not to knock on Marie Calendar’s since I love their pumpkin pie but it just doesn’t compare. I learned that The Pie Hole opened a location in Pasadena on Colorado Blvd and was super excited. Now I don’t have to drive all the way to DTLA for some pie. I got two slices of pie, the earl grey and the double crust apple. I LOVE the earl grey!! It was creamy, crunchy, just the right textures, and not too sweet. I love the crust on the apple pie but I’ve come to learn that most places is a hit or miss for apple pie. The apple pie here was wayyyy too sweet. The crust already has enough sugar so add that with the filling was overkill. I do want to try their mac and cheese pie and the chicken pot pie made with corn bread. As for the sweet pies, I still want to try their hot mexican chocolate pie and their maple custard.
008
Here’s the apple pie 🙂
006
Here’s the earl grey pie!! ^_^ It was freakin delicious!

The workers were real friendly compared to the other two places in here. The Pie Hole is right next to Intelligentsia Coffee. Coolhaus and some juice place are in same area as The Pie Hole. The Pie Hole is all the way in the back. I thought about getting something from Coolhaus but the guy working kept mean mugging people. Nice way to attract customers eh? Anyway, I will definitely be back to try out more pies. I think next up will be their savory pies. The prices are a bit steep at $6 per slice (of the ones I ordered) but I mean you won’t find earl grey pie at Marie Calendar’s. The quality is good and the slice is fairly reasonable. Some of the pies are made to be eaten in a smaller slice. Especially their apple pie. There’s no way I could finish a big slice let alone the slice I ordered.

I also made a trip to Pappa Rich for their famous buns. They were freakin fabulous!!! I ordered the mocha bun and the milk bun. Both were amazing. More on that later! 🙂

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

2 thoughts on “The Pie Hole (Pasadena, CA)

    1. Justina Post author

      Yes it is 🙂 You see Coolhaus from the sidewalk and then Pressed Juicery is second. The Pie Hole is all the way in the back. I love the earl grey one. It’s really good 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

