Project Give: Baking For Veterans (Haupia)

I was asked by someone who worked at the hospital to make something with coconut. My first thought was you want me to make macaroons?! WHAT?! For those of you who don’t know, I REALLYYYY dislike coconut. Macaroons are probably like the devil. I had them once and I’ll never have them again. I searched for recipes that have coconut milk in them since I’m okay with it and I found haupia! Haupia is a Hawaiian dessert usually served at luau’s and it’s coconut pudding. Technically haupia is supposed to harden up and be cut up into squares sort of like jello. My haupia didn’t harden enough and was still a pudding consistency so I scooped a little and served them in baking liners.
005

The consistency isn’t great but the taste is excellent! I couldn’t believe how easy it was. I also got rave reviews from the vets and the person who requested it. He really loves coconut and I was explaining what it was to him. I laughed a lot because he said, “Haupia? You won’t find that in the hood!” Haha!! I guess it’s because we’re in Long Beach but it was hilarious. I’ll definitely be making this again.

Haupia (Yummly)
1 14oz can of coconut milk
6 tablespoons cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup sugar
oil for pan

– in a small bowl, mix together 1 1/2 cups of coconut milk and the cornstarch until smooth and creamy looking
– in a medium pot, over medium low heat dissolve sugar in remaining coconut milk
– once sugar is dissolved, add salt and vanilla extract, stir constantly
– when everything is dissolved, add cornstarch mixture into pot and stir constantly (stirring is important! if you don’t stir constantly you’ll get lumps and that’s no bueno)
– stir for about 4-6 minutes on medium low heat until mixture becomes thick when pulled away from pot (thick like custard not like pudding)
– take off stove and let cool while you oil a 8x8in. pan
– pour mixture into pan and smooth out surface
– let cool completely, should take about 30 minutes
– refrigerate for 2-3 hours or overnight for best results
– cut into squares and serve! šŸ™‚

Happy eating! šŸ™‚ This is a must try if you like coconut milk. The mistake I made was letting it cook too long. My mixture was the consistency of pudding and that was bad! Next time I’ll know better šŸ™‚

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

