Project Give: Baking For Veterans (Cowboy Salsa & Chips)

010
I’ve been trying to think of a new name for my project with the vets. Technically baking for veterans isn’t really cutting it. You don’t bake cowboy salsa…anyone have any good suggestions? Please send them my way! 🙂 One of the vets and I got to talking one day and he mentioned that he likes watching college football. He was telling me how he hates to get up during the game (like any football loving man) so he always has his dips placed in front of him. I decided to make him cowboy salsa or Texas caviar, whichever you prefer. They look the same to me, but then again I’m not from the south so I have no idea. Originally the recipe I found calls for ham but that was too weird for my palate. He’s a bit old fashion anyway and I don’t think he’d want ham in his salsa. I’m also not a fan of black beans or any kind of beans so I omitted the beans too. Hopefully he didn’t notice! 🙂
012
Cowboy Salsa & Chips (adapted from Krafts)
1 11oz can of corn, drained and rinsed
3 roma tomatoes, diced
4 regular avocados, pitted and diced
3/4 cup of your favorite salsa (I used cantina style medium)
1/4 cup diced green onions
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper (more if you like it spicy)
lime juice for the avocados
tortilla chips

– pour everything except salt, pepper, and lime juice into a large bowl
– stir to combine everything and then drizzle it with lime juice (the juice keeps the avocados from turning brown/black which is groddy)
– season with salt and pepper and mix again. if you like it more spicy add more pepper according to your liking
– refrigerate for about an hour to let everything marry together
– serve with tortilla chips

This dip is highly addicting! I could eat the whole bowl if I wanted. The flavor was so awesome and reminded me of guacamole. I love avocados, they’re so yummy! The vets loved the salsa by the way. They’re now requesting actual food. I think I’ll make chocolate chip cookies next or a cappuccino cake. Can you tell I’m a rebel? 😛 I mean I suppose I’ll make actual food but I have no idea what to make. Everything seems to have too many steps and I’m a simple kinda gal. Maybe I’ll make pasta one day. Toodles!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

5 thoughts on “Project Give: Baking For Veterans (Cowboy Salsa & Chips)

Leave a Reply

