The FAMOUS snickerdoodle recipe!!

007
One of my best friends is an awesome cook and baker. Yay for friends who can bake! 🙂 We went to college together and we’d always tell each other what we made and how we would make stuff. It’s a baker thing I suppose. Since she’s moving to Nebraska, I told her she should start a blog so I could keep up with her adventures. I was only half kidding when I said it since I figured she’d be too busy. But it turns out she made one! You can click here to visit her blog. She is officially a military wife. I’m sure you can expect to see lots of recipes for corn on her blog! Haha! 🙂 I’m not a fan of chocolate covered Oreos but the kind she makes is freakin delicious. I ate em up like nothing. The mickey cookies we made for her wedding is this recipe. We’re sharing the secret! 😀
001
Lahaina’s Famous Snickerdoodle Cookies
1 1/2 cups or 3 sticks unsalted butter
5 cups all purpose flour
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract (use good quality because it taste it really brings out the flavor)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
4-8 teaspoons ground cinnamon (if you like a subtle taste I would suggest 4 teaspoons, add more if you like a stronger flavor)

– preheat oven to 350 or 400, depending on how strong your oven is. I did 400 since my oven is a wuss
– cream together butter and sugar until fluffy
– add eggs one at a time and mix after every addition
– pour in vanilla extract and mix again
– scrape down the sides to make sure everything gets incorporated
– add salt and baking powder and mix again
– add flour one cup at a time mixing after every addition
– scrape down the sides one last time
– add cinnamon and mix one final time
– put in fridge for about 30 minutes to harden up
– using a ice cream scoop, scoop out dough onto a silpat lined cookie sheet
– bake at 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes
– let cool for 5 minutes on cookie sheet and then transfer to wire rack to cool completely
– enjoy them with a glass of milk! 🙂

You could also roll the dough out on a floured surface and use a cookie cutter but I’m way too lazy for that. I just wanted some delicious snickerdoodle cookies. I’ll try this recipe again but next time I’ll add almond extract too. I tried snickerdoodles from Bittersweet Treats in Pasadena, CA and they use almond extract which really brought out the flavor of the cookie. Enjoy the cookies! This is a different way of making snickerdoodles. Usually I make the dough and put it in the fridge then I roll the balls of dough in cinnamon/sugar but this way is much easier. Try them out! They’re really good. This is the only other snickerdoodle I will eat besides the ones from Bittersweet Treats.

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

One thought on “The FAMOUS snickerdoodle recipe!!

Leave a Reply

