Are we there yet?

Yesterday was really humid in the valley so the big sis and I made plans to go to the beach. We’re California girls so beach bums by default. We decided on Santa Monica since it was the closest to us. Our goal for the day was to walk by the water from Santa Monica Pier to the Venice Fishing Pier. It’s approximately 3 miles there and 3 miles back so we walked 6 miles total. We’re still hurting btw. It hurts when I stand, when I sit, when I bend down to get something. I haven’t been in such hurt for so long. Initially we didn’t think we’d make it to the fishing pier so we just walked and talked. About half way there the big sis wanted to stop and sunbathe but I insisted we walk all the way down there. That way we can say we did it. And boy, we did it..and it hurts. I don’t recommend walking such a long distance if you’re out of shape like we are! 🙂 I did manage to take some awesome photos. I love pictures of the beach. Sunset pictures are my all time favorite. The beach had crosses set up for Memorial Day which was humbling to see.
098
Of course I had to write the blog name on the sand.
003
The crosses to honor fallen service members. It’s located by the Lot 1 parking lot and on the right side of the pier.
009
The amusement park on the pier. I tried to take this picture multiple times but the lighting just sucked.
029
The left side of the pier/ferris wheel 🙂
062
I think she was trying to tell me something.
053
The awesome waves. There’s really nothing like walking near the water.
014
This picture was taken all the way at the end of the pier. We walked down the stairs and voila!
080
More waves of SM.
032
I have a funky smile on my face because you can’t tell that the water just hit my feet. If you’re not familiar with Pacific water, it’s icy cold. Especially at 8am in the morning.
095
The Venice Fishing Pier..
092
These rocks were in between Venice and Santa Monica. I love this shot because of the water.
086
More water! 🙂
084
That’s me in front of the rocks. I was afraid the water was splash on me from the other side.
066
We’re almost there! 🙂

Santa Monica had a lot of people compared to Venice although I’m pretty sure it’s because SMP is very touristy. Venice is mostly for art junkies and locals. We finished the day with lunch at Bubba Gump! I got a free cup with my strawberry sparkler drink. It taste like a Shirley Temple and it lights up on the bottom. After lunch we went to The Funnel Cake Factory!
109
It was so freakin delicious! 🙂 I LOVE funnel cakes. And they’re one of the few places that take credit cards too! Overall it was an awesome day. Now I get to say I walked 6 miles while carrying a backpack and a DSLR with my sister. We had to egg each other to the finish line but we did it. We kept asking each other are we there yet? lol I wrote up my beach bucket list this summer. Hopefully I’ll be able to complete it. I’m already getting a head start! 🙂 I hope everyone has an awesome weekend. Don’t party too hard tomorrow!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

