Mocha Chocolate Cake Trifles

trifle
I made chocolate cupcakes with mocha icing the other day for the vets at the hospital. I had some leftover so I decided to take them with me to work. Initially I thought I would just cut them up and give them to the residents but I decided to make individual trifles instead. I was hoping they had strawberries in the fridge but there was only one and a half boxes left so I got the half box. There weren’t enough strawberries for all the trifles so I used bananas instead. I layered it with cake and fruit and then topped it off with whipped cream. The residents loved them! Usually the residents will eat a little of everything but they gobbled this up and tried to lick the cup. It was kind of funny to watch.

Mocha Chocolate Cake Trifles (makes approx 12 individual trifles)
8 chocolate cupcakes with mocha icing
3/4 cup chopped strawberries
approx 2 1/2-3 cups chopped bananas
whipped cream for topping

– cut each cupcake into four pieces
– layer the bottom of the cup with one or two pieces of cake
– add a layer of fruit on top
– add another piece of cake
– top that off with another layer of fruit
– finally add some whipped cream on top and voila!
unnamed
I got 8 trifles with just bananas and 4 with just strawberries. I also made water infused with orange slices. It gives the water a refreshing citrus taste. All in all I did pretty well and the residents loved it which is the most important aspect. I want to make goodies that they like and I’m slowly starting to understand what they like and what they don’t like. Thanks for reading!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

