Dessert Decorating at Work

I’ve been decorating a lot of desserts at work. It’s pretty much my calling. I made an angel food cake with blueberries mixed into the cake batter and frosted it with whipped cream. I piped rosettes on the top border and shells on the bottom border. I put a blueberry on top of each rosette for decoration. Then I wrote Happy Birthday in caramel sauce. It still looked a little plain to me so I did caramel swirls on the top border. My resident loved it and asked for seconds.
Bpu5L19IYAAenbi
I also made ice cream sundaes with my residents. I put a scoop of vanilla ice cream at the bottom of the cup. I topped the ice cream with sliced bananas, whipped cream, and a cherry. I also drizzled on some blackberry sauce. They were delish! šŸ™‚
BqDgsMcCAAI0HrI
One my residents had an anniversary today. He’s been married to his wife for 56 years. I didn’t know it was their anniversary today so I couldn’t make them a cake in time. My work place has frozen mini chocolate lava cakes on hand so I used one of those. I nuked it in the fridge for about 35 seconds and decorated it like no ones business. The writing as well as the drizzles are chocolate. I melted about 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips and made a paper cone to put it in. It worked like a charm. I piped stars around the lava cake with whipped cream and then drizzled strawberry sauce on top of the whipped cream. I also piped stars on the sides of the plate and attempted to draw a heart on each. My coworker said I should add some strawberries so I piped two more stars (bigger ones) and placed two strawberries on each star. Then I put a scoop of ice cream on top of the lava cake and drizzled more chocolate on top. I also drizzled some chocolate on the whipped cream/strawberry sauce decoration.
BqIYie1IgAAaW9H
Someone told me I should go to pastry school because I make all these desserts. I mean, I have to make it pretty right? šŸ™‚

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

