PW’s Dreamy Apple Pie

 photo 10303945_10152192445626175_2521320262368607031_n_zpsf6202c75.jpg
You know…I don’t think dreamy even begins to describe this apple pie. Normally I’m not a fan of apple pie. I like pumpkin pie and blueberry pie. I’ve always found that the apple pies I’ve tasted are way too sweet for my palate. Not anymore folks. The PW’s apple pie is so freakin delicious. I made two of them with my residents at work and they were SO SO good. Everyone raved about them and several people asked me for the recipe. That’s how awesome they are!

PW’s Dreamy Apple Pie
2 frozen pie shells

filling:
10-12 regular sized apples, peeled and cut into chunks (I used apples picked from our apple tree at work)
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 cups half & half (recipe calls for heavy cream but all I had was half&half at work)
4 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

crumb topping:
2 sticks butter (1 cup)
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup chopped walnuts (recipe calls for pecans but I didn’t have that)
pinch of salt

– preheat oven to 375 degrees
– place both unbaked pie shells on a baking sheet to avoid any spills in the oven later
– in a large bowl, mix together dry ingredients for the filling (sugars, flour, cinnamon)
– stir in vanilla extract and half and half
– add apples and make sure all the apples are coated in the delicious filling mixture
– pour half of the filling mixture into each pie shell (make sure each pie has equal qualities of apples and juice)
– in another bowl, mix dry ingredients for topping (flour, sugar, walnuts, salt)
– cut in the butter until it resembles coarse crumbs
– sprinkle half of the crumb mixture on each pie
– pat down the topping slightly just so it sticks to the filling below
– bake at 375 for approximately 50 minutes (depending on your oven, you might need to wrap the edge of the pie in foil and possibly the top – check about 30 minutes into the baking just to check)
– let it set before cutting into it and serve with vanilla ice cream!

I couldn’t wait to sink my teeth into a slice so I cut it while it was still warm. Then again, that’s how I like my apple pies…warm šŸ™‚ This is by far the BEST apple pie I’ve ever had. I doubled the recipe of the original dreamy apple pie because I have a lot of residents. A MUST TRY and definitely a KEEPER!

Fail Sweetly,
Justina

Leave a Reply

